Hush Puppies

112772-glowing-purple-neon-icon-animals-animal-dog1

In many countries and cultures it’s an enormous pressure on singles – to find a partner. Some even arrange their marriages. Potential partners exchange portfolios with pictures, horoscopes and description of physical appearance. Then they chose. In other parts of the world the choice is your own.

I also experience a lot of pressure on us singles– to entertain everybody else. I ave often been in the following scenario: a good gang of people are going out together. I’ve been dancing for several hours and feel like going home while things are on top. It was a fun night. When I tell my friend I’m leaving I get the response: “You can’t go home yet! You are single!”

Another classic is the “dog-face-case”. I’m going out with friends for dinner. I have a good time, but I’ve been working hard all week. When I grab my purse to go, I see one of my coupled friends staring at me like a little dog hoping for a treat. Looking at me in desperation. I’m his only hope to go out and shake his short-cut tail. I feel sorry for him for being locked up and being in a leash, so in the end  I have to take him for a walk.

Sometimes it happens that you have been granted the freedom from your partner to stay out longer than your normal curfew.  So be damned if youa are not going to utilize it to the max. For a breed used to operating in a flock, going solo is a dangerous game. So they turn to me, the easy victim. And I come to the rescue.

But not anymore. I realized that being single means doing exactly what you want to. You have the privilege of going all out, and stay totally in when you don’t feel like lifting a paw. So why should I feel like I have to entertain everybody else? They chose their style and I chose mine.

I think couples are fantastic. But why do different rules apply? If a married person is tired after a long week it’s understandable. If a single person is tired, she is boring. Even though she probably had to shop for groceries every day, cook every day and do the dishes every day. There is no-one to share the load.

And on top of that – you have to spend every free time looking for THE one. Will I find him during lunch hour? Will I find him at the bar? Will I find him at McDonalds for a night snack? Will I find him while waiting for a taxi? Maybe an arranged setup doesn’t sound so bad anymore. It saves me time a least. Precious time I can spend by doing whatever I want! …………So I think I’ll just wait a little longer.

Leave a comment